News & Updates 2022

The CASNMMI annual meeting took place virtually on June 11, 2022 during the SNMMI 2022 Hybrid Annual Meeting with in-person and remote options (June 11-14, 2022 | Vancouver, BC, Canada).

Lifetime Achievement Awards (LTAA)  

Professor Benjamin M. W. Tsui (徐明華教授)
Professor Tsui's early research interests were mainly in medical imaging physics of SPECT, PET and CT, computer generated phantoms that realistically mimic human anatomy and physiology, computer simulation techniques including analytical and Monte Carlo methods, 2D and 3D quantitative analytical and statistical image reconstruction methods, and image quality evaluation using model and human observers. Later in his career, he expanded his research interests into preclinical small animal SPECT, PET, CT and simultaneous SPECT-MR imaging instrumentation and techniques, and the development of 4D PET image reconstruction with cardiac and respiratory motion compensation. More recently, continuing into his retirement, he has engaged in the application of deep learning using neural networks to medical imaging especially in CT and the development of imaging probes for nuclear imaging of small organs. Dr. Tsui was the President of CASNM 1995-1997. His research over more than 40 years have resulted in over 210 peer-reviewed journal articles, 33 book chapters, 240 proceedings, and a Google Scholar citation H index of 73. He was the recipient of the IEEE Edward J. Hoffman Medical Imaging Scientist Award in 2009 and the SNMMI Edward J. Hoffman Memorial Award in 2015. Dr. Tsui has trained 18 M.S. and 19 Ph.D. students, and mentored 23 postdoctoral fellows, and many young research scientists and junior faculty at both UNC-CH and Hopkins.

Young Investigator Award (YIA)

1st Prize: Jian Rong, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston MA, USA
Novel reversible-binding PET ligands for imaging monoacylglycerol lipase

2nd Prize: Yaqi Zheng, Beijing Anzhen Hospital, Beijing, China
Serial 18F-FDG and 18F-ALF-NOTA-FAPI PET/CT for cardiac inflammation and fibroblast activation after acute myocardial inflammation in minipigs

2nd Prize: Hongyue Lou, Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shanghai, China
A novel NIR-II nanoprobe for precise imaging of micro-meter sized tumor metastases and skin flap

3rd Prize: Xiaoyi Guo, Beijing Cancer Hospital, Beijing, China
Validation of α2δ1 as tumor-initiating cells marker for molecular imaging using 64Cu-NOTA-1B50-1 and 64Cu-NOTA-1B50-1-F(ab)2

3rd Prize: Zongxiang Gui, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, USA
Molecular imaging and mechanism of CXCL12/CXCR4 axis in liver metastasis by Precision MRI (pMRI)

3rd Prize: Xueqi Guo, Yale University, CT, USA
A Patlak-regularized deep learning inter-frame motion correction framework for whole-body dynamic PET

Congratulations to all YIA winners!